It is 1:20 AM

Self PortraitOne of my favorite quotes from The DaVinci Code is when Ian Mckellen says, “it is so late, it is early.” I have been on winter break from my senior year at Assumption College since last Wednesday. But I have had a problem since I got home. Actually, if I am being honest, I have had the problem since early November. I find myself to be nocturnal. My friend Tyler thinks I am a vampire. When I told him that being a vampire is awesome, he quickly asked, “Twilight or badass?” I responded Buffy. Before you laugh and give me up to the sparkly vampire breed, I’ve met James Marsters, he is a badass. If you can have met him and disagree, well, that’s just ridiculousness.

Anyways, nocturnal, vampire, awesome. See it started back in early November. I am a Campus Ministry Core Team member at AssCo and I directed a retreat Nov. 18 and the preparations were extensive. After that I needed to prepare for my senior English writing w/ mass communications capstone colloquium. COLLOQUIUM. Tis the evilest event to take place. The presentation kept me up late many nights before the big day. But like I said in my presentation, English is my passion, and if it is work, it’s play. But regardless of the passion, which will come later, I was up til about 3 am the night before. I mean, alcohol may have been involved, but there was a lot of work too.

But after colloq was over, I thought I was in the clear. This was not at all the case. FINALS. They were a lot more than I thought they would be. Papers, projects, photos and presentations. The last night of finals I had two friends come over to say hi. We got talking about life and stayed up til the wee hours of the morning. The next day I woke up at 8:30 am to work at the media center on campus and finalize my audio documentary for a class. I got back to my room around 10:30 am and went back to bed. I woke up around 4 pm and got some dinner. My roommates and I ran to the packy and got a few 40s for the night. It was our last night together and we were going to The Blarney Stone, a local bar with trivia and all you can eat popcorn. The night turned into a full on combination of Not Another Teen Movie and The Hangover, but the next day when we all woke up at about 1pm with 3/6 of us throwing up, we could do nothing but laugh. While for 5/6 of us it was the end of our last fall semester. It was a moment that we shared together, hungover in our apartment, laughing. It was heartfelt, bittersweet and will be bookmarked in our minds forever.

I drove home that day and ended up staying up til 4:30 am. I wasn’t busy. I wasn’t working. And I wasn’t drinking. After the busiest and craziest semester of my life so far, I had lost the ability to fall asleep early. I have spent the past week trying to gain it back and I’ve gained an hour every night. But in my late night struggles there was one thing I was doing, thinking. It is something we all do. As an English major, why not write it all down? Share the ridiculousness of my apartment happenings, personal struggles, the loves of my life and so much more.

If you have sat taken the time to read this whole thing, first of all, thank you. I appreciate it a lot. But there might have been something that I did not mention. Young and Just a Little Bit Reckless. The title speaks for itself I think. If you are curious for more of a definition, keep reading. I promise, I won’t disappoint.

Goodnight,

Nicholas James

Leave a comment

Filed under All Posts

Leave a Reply

